“Menschen, die in Indien Patente besitzen, sind plötzlich gefragt – in vielen Fällen nicht wegen des Wertes ihrer Erfindungen, die wertlos sein mögen, sondern als Mittel zur Geldwäsche.

Es gab in den letzten Monaten viele Fälle, in denen Patentinhaber Millionen verdient haben, indem sie geistiges Eigentum an Vorderfirmen im Ausland verkauft haben, im Rahmen von Geschäften, die auf Roundtrip zugeschnitten sind, nicht verbuchtes Geld als legales Einkommen an die Wirtschaft zurückerstattet haben, sagen Steuerexperten. Innovative und billige Geldwäschetricks wie diese könnten das im Haushalt vom Montag vorgestellte Amnestieprogramm für Inhaber von nicht abgerechneten Geldern unattraktiv machen.

Die Nutzung von Patenten zum Waschen von Geld ist eine relativ neue Technik. Ein Steuerexperte erklärte die Vorgehensweise und sagte, dass ein indisches Unternehmen oder eine Einzelperson zunächst eine Partnerschaft mit dem Patentinhaber eingeht. Das Patent wird dann an eine Firma außerhalb Indiens verkauft und das Geld wird legal erhalten, wobei die Einkommenssteuer mit dem Regierungssatz von 10 Prozent für solche Einnahmen gezahlt wird.

“Der Haken ist, das Unternehmen außerhalb Indiens ist eine Front”, sagte der Steuerexperte, der darum bat, nicht genannt zu werden. Das Geld stammt oft aus Indien und wird über Havala oder andere illegale Netzwerke ins Ausland geschickt.

Unter dem Abkommen erhält die Person, die das Patent besaß, seinen Anteil und die ausländische Firma auch. Alle diese Kosten sind geringer als die Zahlung der Einkommenssteuer mit 30 Prozent oder dem 45-prozentigen Satz, den die Regierung im Rahmen des am Montag angekündigten nicht verrechneten Gelderklärungsschemas zu erheben vorschlug.

Viele Händler haben sich innovative, aber skrupellose Werkzeuge ausgedacht, um Menschen zu helfen, die über nicht verbuchte Vermögen verfügen. Viele von denen, die einen solchen Reichtum besitzen, fürchten die BJP-Regierung, die eine starke Entschlossenheit gezeigt hat, nicht verbuchtes Geld auszugraben, würden hinter ihnen her sein”.

Dieser Artikel wurde von Paul Hamilton veröffentlicht.

Der Artikel und der Autor können unter http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/news/economy/policy/money-laundering-trade-patents-a-new-tool-for-bringing-back-black-money/articleshow/51220405.cms eingesehen werden.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close

“People who own patents in India are suddenly in demand – in many cases not because of the value of their inventions that may be worthless, but as a conduit to launder money.

There have been many cases in recent months where patent owners made millions by selling intellectual property to front companies abroad, under deals tailored to round trip unaccounted money back to the economy as legal earnings, say tax experts. Innovative and cheap money laundering tricks like this, they warn, could render the amnesty scheme unveiled in Monday’s Budget unattractive to holders of unaccounted money.

Using patents to launder money is a relatively new technique. Explaining the modus operandi, a tax expert said an Indian company or individual first forms a partnership with the patent holder. The patent is then sold to a firm outside India and the money is received legally, paying income tax at the government rate of 10 per cent for such earnings.

“The catch is, the company outside India is a front,” said the tax expert, who requested not to be named. The money involved is often originated in India and sent abroad via havala or other illegal networks.

Under the deal, the person who owned the patent gets his cut and so does the foreign company. All these cost less than paying income tax at 30 per cent or the 45 per cent rate the government proposed to levy under the unaccounted money declaration scheme announced on Monday

Many dealers have come up with innovative but unscrupulous tools to help people holding unaccounted wealth. Many of those who hold such wealth fear the BJP government, which has shown a strong resolve to unearth unaccounted money, would come after them”.

This article was posted by Paul Hamilton.

The article and author can be viewed at http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/news/economy/policy/money-laundering-trade-patents-a-new-tool-for-bringing-back-black-money/articleshow/51220405.cms

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close